Submitted photo
Awarded educator—Natalie May of Horseshoe Trails Elementary came away with this year’s “Teacher of the Year” award for CCUSD.
Printer Friendly Version

Horseshoe Trails' May named CCUSD's 'Teacher of the Year'

Staff Report~ 5/7/2014

At the Cave Creek Unified School District's first-ever award ceremony of its kind, held April 30 at the Cactus Shadows Fine Arts Center, Natalie May of Horseshoe Trails Elementary was named the 2014 "Teacher of the Year."
May teaches second grade at the CCUSD educational institution. As part of the "Teacher of the Year" award, which was made possible by a donation from Dick and Barbara Gunderson, May received a $3,000 prize and will be the local school district's nominee to receive a similar award at the state level.
Nominations for CCUSD Teacher of the Year were requested in August. Former state-level winners and ambassadors served on the selection committee. They followed the judging procedure used for the Arizona Teacher of the Year.
In addition to May receiving the top award, several honorees were also selected, including Cindy Puschak, music teacher at Desert Sun Academy; and Carrie McCulloch, kindergarten teacher at Lone Mountain Elementary. They both received an award of $1,000.
Other nominees from CCUSD included Sarah Caranza, Spanish teacher at Sonoran Trails Middle School; Patty Egan, physical education teacher at Cactus Shadows High School; Angie Braude, seventh and eighth grade sci-tech teacher at Sonoran Trails Middle School; and Laurie Van Fleet, third grade teacher at Black Mountain Elementary School.
In addition to the awards, CCUSD and Cave Creek Unified Education Foundation "Rock The District"students were on hand at the April 30 ceremony to perform, including Sonoran Trails Middle School's Halle Ata-Abadi, Chance McLaughlin, Cristina Silbert and Sophie Louis and also Cactus Shadows High School sophomore Abby Walker.